Database: San Michele island: Difference between revisions
imported>Fielran m updated imageneed template |
m Text replacement - "{{imageneed" to "{{Imageneed" Tag: Manual revert |
| (One intermediate revision by the same user not shown) | |
(No difference)
| |
Latest revision as of 16:06, 4 August 2026
|
Where are the paintings? This article is in need of more images and/or better quality pictures from Assassin's Creed: Nexus VR in order to achieve a higher status. You can help the Assassin's Creed Wiki by uploading better images on this page. |
A small islet north of Venice, San Michele was for a long time the site of a lone monastery and a church, a mysterious place visited only by some fishermen and travelers. When fire destroyed the church, this led to the construction on a new one, completed in 1469, which is considered as the first Renaissance-style building in Venice. Its nicely adorned façade, made of white Istrian stone, attracted attention and the church became a reference and an iconic location of Venice. Centuries later, the island housed the official cemetery of the city, for sanitary issues. It then became known as the Island of the Dead.
